On the cusp of adulthood


a href=”https://blessedx5ks.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/119.jpg”>119

At the end of this month I will be the mother of an adult child (legally an adult that is). My oldest, Heather, will turn 18 and I will have a new reality. 18 years that have flown by, with moments made up of all different flavors and scents, joys and sorrows. But most of all joys. The small moments of pleasure at watching my children experience and appreciate life are my mana. I see God in all my small moments and I feel entirely and completely blessed. Heather has been nothing but a pleasure to raise and I am proud of the young woman that she has become. And I will admit that I take pride in knowing that I had something to do with the person that she has grown into. She has a long path of life and choices and turns ahead of her and I hope that she will continue to come to me with her joys and concerns as she has done all of these years. Being her mom has been rewarding and I am glad that she was gifted to us by the good Lord.

18 is an exciting age, graduation, starting in on a new life of education or not…. Making decisions that can affect the rest of your life…. these are big things, life altering, life affecting, life changing… And now I need to figure out where I stand in all of this. How much do I intervene? How can I keep my nose out of it? Where is the line that I can either cross or not cross? Once again a new stage of parenthood that I look at trepidatiously and pray that I handle this with grace and love.

Have the past 18 years been what I expected, what I pictured? To be honest…. no. I had pictured the “white picket” fence life, but what I got was a much more interesting and artistic and creative. I guess the good Lord knew what he was doing when he gave me my interesting, creative, artistic, and unusual kiddos. I wouldn’t know what to do with the “white picket fence” life.  I am, in reality, not that kinda’ gal. Give me quirky. Give me artsy. Give me prodigious (we started with wanting 2…). Give me my family. Because that is who I am. That is what fulfills me, my mana.

araia<

Here is to praying that you have found your mana.
Blessed beyond measure.
Mary Anne~

Leave a Reply

