Violence in our schools…


That should be a catchy, breath taking title, but unfortunately it is not. I am not saying that we don’t all gasp and cry and hold our children close when we hear of such tragedies, because most of us do. What I am saying is that this happens all too often. When I was a child a school shooting was as foreign as, say, aliens landing in the town square.
monsters_vs_aliens01

But seriously. This week we had a brush of this kind of violence. Well, how it can affect students. My 15 year old is in the public school as a 10th grader. There was a rumor on Friday that someone intended on shooting some kids on Monday…..then that person(s) posted on Facebook (smart, huh?) of their intentions. The school found out and had the person(s) put into custody AND had heavy police presense at the school on Monday and today. HOWEVER my child was still tramatized by the very idea. She wasn’t comfortable going to school, she was having anxiety or panic attacks, so we kept her home until after lunch. The school did a commendable job of responding to the threats (either real or imagined), identifying the culprit(s) and informing the parents/students of where things stood.

Colorful Chalk at Chalkboard

What I really don’t understand is how did we get here? Is it that todays children feel like they are immune to consequences? That what they do and say can hurt themselves and others? That they don’t think that what they do really hurts anyone because no one was hurt in the million shoot ’em up video games that they have played? I know these are all just ramblings of a mother worried about her children but they are ramblings that I need to get off my chest. And may be hear some thoughts and/or ideas from others that need to rant.

crying_woman_by_chiba666-d3ch8nt

I am worried about where we are going from here. How can kids learn when they have to worry about their own safety? In a place, that by definition, should be a place of safety.

Blessed and worried. I have to go through another 12 years of this.

Mary Anne~

8 thoughts on “Violence in our schools…

  1. I want to to thank you for this very good read!! I definitely enjoyed
    every bit of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

  2. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to grasp so much approximately this, such as you wrote the book in it or something.
    I believe that you just can do with some percent to
    power the message home a little bit, however other than that, this is great blog.

    An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

  3. Thank you for some other great article. Where else may anybody get that type
    of information in such a perfect manner of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such information.

  4. I have been browsing on-line greater than three hours as of late, but I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s lovely price sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the web can be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

