Oh my goodness, I wish I had a camera


There are times, alot of times, that I wish my eyes could be a camera. I dropped off my 1st, 3rd and 5th graders at school this morning and they were so adorable walking up to the door of the school I just wanted a photograph to remember. They grow up so fast….faster than I would have ever dreamed.

My son will be in Middle School next year, this is the end of his “childhood”. Next year will be full of all the turmoil and learning that the next step to higher education has to offer. We found an awesome school, Northeast Carolina Prep, it is a charter school about 30 miles from us that offers a more diverse education, smaller classes and school uniforms (not that our son cares one lick about clothes).NCPNCP logo

In 5 years I will no longer have ANY children in elementary school, that is something so very hard for me to comprehend. We have been parents to an elementary student for 13 years. This year is a year of big changes, we have a senior in High School and a 5th grader. Next year will be a year of firsts. A freshman in college, a junior in High School, a first year middle schooler, a fourth grader and a second grader.

Being a parent is hard sometimes. Watching your children grow up… which means that you are getting older too, by the way. The years go by so very fast after you have children, why is that? Shouldn’t it be slower? I say we should petition God to make our time go slower with our children, they will be grown and gone before we know it… It is not fair! Yesterday they were infants,infanttomorrow we will be the ancient wise ones(notice I said “wise”),OldWomanSo we need someone to design a camera that I can implant in my eye. One that can catch all these precious moments that come and go with the blink of the eye.

Our moments with our children are precious. Capture them when you can, if not in photograph than in memory. Love them every moment. Kiss them every chance you have, because one day they will be too embarrassed for you to kiss them. Spend time with them, whether they are 2 or 20. Memories are such an amazing thing that your children can take with them and build on  with their own families.

Blessed with my 5 blessings,

Mary Anne~

Colossians 3:20 – Children, obey [your] parents in all things: for this is well pleasing unto the Lord.

 

Leave a Reply

