Provided For, that is a constant


messy van
Welcome to my life

We have been provided for, may be not with a clean van, but we have been provided for. Life on the floor of our family van is not what I would like it to be. As in, I don’t want there to be anything on the floor of the van except the feet of my passengers and may be a purse or two. It’s amazing how quickly it gets out of control. I go through and bag up all that needs to go back inside, use another bag for trash and another for recycling. Gross? sometimes yes. Embarrassing? it used to be, now, well, other things have proven to be more important. Frustrating that I repeat this procedure over and over again? you bet! But there is a bright side:

Atlanta snow
Atlanta grid lock from an unexpected snow/ice storm

I was talking to my sister a little while ago about the people that were stranded in the ice storm in Atlanta and during the conversation I realized that if, today, we got stranded in our van, we might be okay. Because today I have more than just the emergency blanket, there are at least three other blankets. Someone left their lunch in there PLUS there are several bags of chips in the back from after school snacks that the children eat on the way home from the bus each day. A couple 1/2 drunk bottles of water and paper and pens. We’d be okay. Because we would be provided for.

crazy eyes
Crazy eyes

I don’t know about you, but I find that that statement, we will be provided for, has been true at every turn in my life. I have a schizophrenic life, it can’t decide if it wants to be sweet and perfect OR rough and disheveled OR mean and nasty OR lost and confused. But the one constant is: I know that we will be provided for, by a perfect and constant God.

I had a pretty wonderful childhood: loving parents, lots of siblings to love and pick on me, wonderful lifelong friends and warm and cuddly pets. BUT, my mom wasn’t around very much because she was in a horrible car accident when I was 10 and that put her in hospitals and pain treatment centers and Doctor appointments…. So even though I knew, without a doubt, that I was loved, I also knew that I was missing something in my life – consistency. However…. this prepared me for my life as it is today. Amazing how God gets you ready along the way. Consistency is not a guarantee, and thank goodness for that, how boring would that be?

My life today is full of bumpy roads, messy vans, broken promises, bumps and bruises, kisses and hugs, giggles and belly rolling laughter and LOVE. I am surrounded by imperfection, brokenness and provision. God provided us with five awesome, funny, witty and sometimes frustrating children and has helped us provide for them with a roof over their heads, food in

Bare Cupboard
Bare Cupboard

their tummies, health care and an education. He’s an awesome God. There have been times that Mother Hubbard’s cupboards have been almost bare but amazingly meals have been thrown together and hunger was abated.

We have all had moments and even possibly days where if we look at all that has happened- the good, the bad, the ugly- and see God in it- providing. It’s pretty amazing.

 
Leave a Reply

